Navigate Up
Sign In
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Information > School Board

Your Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for Tacoma Public Schools is an elected body of five citizens representing the entire district.  Each board member is elected from the district at-large to serve a six-year term. Directors are elected in the primary elections and at-large (city-wide) in the general elections of odd-numbered years. Terms are staggered so that no more than two positions will be open at one time.
If you would like additional information on elections and filing timelines you can visit the Pierce County Auditor-Elections website here.
If you are interested in running for a school board position, you can find a great deal of information on the topic at WA State School Directors Association (WSSDA) website here.

Karen Vialle, President
School Assignments:  Wilson, Willie Stewart Academy, Mason, Truman, Downing, Jefferson, Point Defiance, Skyline, Sherman, Washington
Term expires: November, 2017

Catherine Ushka, Vice President

Catherine Ushka-Hall

School Assignments: Mount Tahoma, Early Childhood, Baker, Gray, Arlington, Birney, Edison, Fern Hill, Larchmont, Manitou Park, Stafford
Term expires: November, 2021

Debbie Winskill


School Assignments: Foss, School of the Arts, Giaudrone, DeLong, Geiger, Franklin, Reed, Wainwright, Whittier
Term expires: November, 2019

Scott Heinze

School Assignments: Lincoln, Community-Based Transition, First Creek, Stewart, Blix, Boze, Fawcett, Lister, Lyon, Mann, McKinley, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Whitman
Term expires: November, 2017

Andrea Cobb

School Assignments: Stadium, Oakland, Science and Math Institute, Jason Lee, Meeker, Browns Point, Bryant, Crescent Heights, Grant, Lowell, McCarver, Northeast Tacoma, Stanley
Term expires: November, 2021


 Email the Board


Do you have a question or comment for the School Board? Send them an e-mail.

Watch Live